Tips and tricks

Gluten-free: What does it mean?

For several years now, the term “gluten-free” has been gaining in popularity, and we often see it printed on the packaging of foods we eat daily. But do you know what it really means?

For several years now, the term “gluten-free” has been gaining in popularity, and we often see it printed on the packaging of foods we eat daily. But do you know what it really means? Here are a few simple explanations to help you understand the term “gluten-free”.

First and foremost, what is gluten? It’s a substance composed of different proteins found in certain cereal grains: wheat, oats, rye, barley, spelt and Khorosan Kamut. It plays an important role in helping the dough to rise during bread-making, which is why most gluten-free breads are flatter. Several of the foods we consume each day are made with gluten: bread, beer, cereal, granola bars, etc.

Studies over the past few years have demonstrated that gluten is not suited to everyone, and that it’s possible to develop an intolerance to it. It is not however a substance that is harmful to humans. To be able to declare a product “gluten-free”, several strict criteria must be met: see criteria

Virtually all of our Fantino&Mondello deli products bear this mention because of special procedures in place to control allergens at the plant. This means you can serve our deli treats at gatherings with friends without hesitation, even if one of your guests is celiac (gluten intolerant). Fantino&Mondello is proud to offer you delicious, quality products that are accessible to everyone.

* Make sure the side dishes you serve with our charcuterie are also gluten-free! Bon appétit!

Let see our recipes section to discover some of our best recipes gluten-free!

MORE INSPIRATION

SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER

You are now registered

An error has occurred